Course Overview

The Discipline offers supervision in a wide area of medical interest. To pursue a Structured PhD degree, potential candidates should discuss the matter with the Head of Discipline.

Programmes Available

PhD (Medicine), part-time
MD (Medicine), full-time
MD (Medicine), part-time

Applications are made online via the NUI Galway Postgraduate Applications System

Associated

Learning Outcomes

Entry Requirements

PhD candidates should normally have a high honours standard in a relevant academic discipline at primary degree level or equivalent together with the support of an academic staff member who is approved by the College to supervise the research in terms of its nature and scope.

MD candidates should normally have a high honours standard in Medicine from NUI Galway or possess qualification deemed by the Senate of the University to be equivalent. Candidates shall be eligible to register onto the MD programme, three years after obtaining the Degree of Bachelor of Medicine. The application will also require support of an academic staff member who is approved by the College to supervise the research in terms of its nature and scope.

Additional entry requirements
Candidates may be required to submit a research proposal for consideration by the School as part of their application.

Who’s Suited to This Course

Current research projects

Current funded research opportunity

Work Placement

Related Student Organisations

Career Opportunities

Find a Supervisor / PhD Project

If you are still looking for a potential supervisor or PhD project or would like to identify the key research interests of our academic staff and researchers, you can use our online portal to help in that search

Research Areas

  • Aetiology & pathogenesis
  • Developmental therapeutics
  • Regenerative medicine
  • Clinical trials
  • Health services research
  • Diabetes & Endocrinology
  • Gastroenterology
  • Respiratory
  • Cardiology
  • Neurology
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Dermatology
  • Haematology
  • Medical Oncology
  • Radiation Oncology
  • Palliative Care
  • I nfectious Diseases
  • Rheumatology
  • Nephrology

Researcher Profiles

Prof. Timothy O'Brien
timothy.obrien@nuigalway.ie
Head of Discipline of Medicine / Director of REMEDI 

Prof. Kieran Daly 
kieran.daly@hse.ie
Cardiology

Prof. Eamon Mulkerrin / Dr. Shaun O'Keeffe 
eamon.mulkerrin@hse.ie/ s.okeeffe@hse.ie  
Geriatrics 

Dr. John Lee
John.lee@hse.ie
Gastroenterology/Hepatology 

Dr. Timothy Counihan/Dr. Michael Hennessy
Timothy.counihan@hse.ie/Michael.hennessy@hse.ie 
Neurology 

Dr. Pauline Marren/Dr. Trevor Markham/Dr. Lesley Anne Murphy
Pauline.marren@hse.ie/ Trevor.markham@hse.ieLesleyA.murphy@hse.ie 
Dermatology

Prof. M. O'Dwyer 
Michael.odwyer@hse.ie
Haematology

Dr. Maccon Keane/Dr. Paul Donnellan 
Maccon.keane@hse.ie/ paul.donnelln@hse.ie
Medical Oncology
 

Prof. Frank Sullivan
Frank.sullivan@hse.ie
Radiation Oncology

Dr. Dympna Waldron 
Dympna.waldron@hse.ie
Palliative Care

Dr. Catherine Fleming 
Catherine.fleming@hse.ie
Infectious Diseases

Prof. JJ Gilmartin/Dr. Anthony O'Regan 
jj.gilmartin@hse.ie/ anthony.oregan@hse.ie
Respiratory Medicine

Dr. David Lappin/Dr. Donal Reddan 
david.lappin@hse.ie/ donal.reddan@hse.ie
Nephrology

Dr. Robert Coughlan/Dr. John Carey 
bobbycoughlan@yahoo.ie/ john.carey@hse.ie
Rheumatology

Course Fees

Fees: EU

€5,750 p.a. 2018/19

Fees: Non EU

€14,750 p.a. 2018/19

Extra Information

EU Part time:  Year 1 [2018/19] €3,910. p.a.

Contact Us

Department of Medicine
Clinical Science Institute  
T: +353 91 544 206
E: medicine@nuigalway.ie